Skip to content

Heartbroken Apostles

November 10, 2010

It seems almost too obvious to say it out loud, but it’s deeply and profoundly true: pastors are humans, too.  We have all the baggage, pain, hurt and brokenness inherent in the human condition.  We never talk about it.  We aren’t superhumans, invulnerable to grief and pain.  We weren’t given an extra dose of divine spark or a path to redemption any different from anyone else.  That brokenness is often the elephant in the sanctuary, though.  We all try to pretend it isn’t there while talking around it, under it, over it.  If we pretend it isn’t there, maybe it will just wander away and everything will be okay.

I’ve been on a self-imposed blog vacation because my personal life has taken a painful but not entirely unexpected turn.  After completing the ordination process in the United Methodist Church and becoming an Elder in Full Connection, my marriage completely fell apart.  In July my wife left and we were divorced in August.  I have avoided blogging about it to this point because I am self-aware enough to realize that I might approach the line between reflection upon my experiences and airing my dirty laundry inappropriately.  I respect my ex-wife, our children, and myself too much to air my grievances publicly, so I have remained silent.

I don’t want to be thought of as a statistic regarding the divorce rate among clergy.  I don’t want to be an anecdotal example of  “what the ordination process does to candidates.”  I don’t want to point fingers, place blame, or discuss why my marriage collapsed.  I just want to reflect on what happens when a pastor enters and works through the grief process.

It was difficult meeting with my Pastor-Parish Relations Committee.  I met with my District Superintendent, and at her suggestion, prepared a written statement about the fact that I was getting divorced.  I presented my letter to them, and anticipated with dread how the fallout would affect my ministry in the local church.  Everyone was shocked.  My spouse and I had done a good job hiding our problems from everyone, including ourselves.  Waves of shock hit the PPR.  Grown men wiped tears from their cheeks.  The DS assured them that the Conference would do everything possible to support both the churches and me during this process.   She asked for grace from the churches in supporting me through my grief.  As the meeting ended, I was surrounded by people who have been both incredibly supportive and deeply critical of me, and their sincerest prayers for my healing and well-being.  I returned to the parsonage and cried.

The written statement I issued was then copied and mailed to the rest of the households in the congregation.  By Sunday, nearly everyone had received the letter.  I never announced my divorce from the pulpit.  The elephant entered the sanctuary, planted himself between the pulpit and the pews, and he was angry.  He stomped, snorted and trumpeted to make his presence known.  I was faced with the seemingly impossible preacher’s task of proclaiming hope while feeling utterly hopeless.  My sermons reflected my personal pain even as I tried desperately to prevent it.  I fought back tears most Sundays, occasionally with some success.  Even when I didn’t cry, my hangdog expression was obvious.  One parishioner commented to me one Sunday, “your message was great, but you just look so sad.”  Every sermon had not-so-subtle subtext: “Pray for me.  I need your support right now.  Please don’t leave me in this place alone.”

I was sad.  I ended up in the Emergency Room one Saturday.  I hadn’t been eating, and my stomach rebelled against me.  I had chest pain and thought I was going to die.  I received mixed messages from the congregation.  One fellow showed up at my house with microwave dinners for my freezer and words of encouragement.  Another parishioner called and said harshly, “you’re going to have to find some way to pull it together.”  Others said, “you have vacation time coming, why don’t you take some?”  And my mind was too preoccupied to process it all.

Then came financial troubles.  I had to find a way of paying the bills on my income alone, which was difficult because my wife made over twice what I do.  I had to ask family for help.  I started cutting expenses, begging for grace, and learning to budget more strictly.  I had a tire blowout 150 miles from home when I really couldn’t afford it.  I learned to pray that nothing else would break down or go wrong.

I started seeing a counselor.  I joined a very private invitation-only online support group.  I met with the Bishop’s office and a representative from the Board of Ordained Ministries for a “Divorce Review.”  I rebuilt a circle of close friends.  I learned quickly who my friends were, and weren’t.  I kept company with denial, anger and despair.  I slept on my couch with the TV on every night.  I forced myself to eat.  I avoided my clergy friends because I just didn’t want to talk about it.

Grief is a funny thing with a life of its own.  I started turning around, and I’m not sure why.  My online friends provided a great roadmap for what my process would be like, and they really supported and encouraged me all the way.  Having great support through the grief was like making the trip with a GPS: I traveled the road more confidently and swiftly because I trusted my guides, and I knew immediately if I was headed down the wrong path.  My sermons have moved from “With God’s help, we’ll get through this,” to “Trust God, our best days are ahead of us.”   I lived out John Wesley’s admonition to “preach faith until you have it, then preach it all the more.”   Anger and despair gave way to quiet acceptance and vocal hope.

Grief never leaves you like it found you.  When my grandfather died, it left me a harder, more cynical person.  This process has softened me.  I’ll shed a tear when I try to sing a sad song.  I’m a more patient and deeply compassionate person than I was before.  I really believe I am emotionally healthier than I’ve been in years as a result of grieving well.  I have newfound determination and purpose in my vocation as a pastor.

I’ve learned firsthand that my brokenness and humanity are not just part of who I am as a person, but also part of who I am as a pastor.  It’s difficult for churches when the pastor’s brokenness comes to the surface.  It’s hard for a pastor to be so profoundly broken.  But it’s essential for God’s people to know that God has always been in the business of redeeming, not preventing, suffering.  God has always been in the business of making art out of broken lives.  We aren’t called to be perfect, or to pretend that we are.  We are called to remember that our brokenness gives us an opportunity for God’s grace and healing to be revealed to us and in us.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 12:56 pm

    God bless you, Will. Thanks for your honesty.

  2. Amy permalink
    November 10, 2010 1:07 pm

    Hey Will, thanks for sharing, fortune favors the brave and writing this, was brave.
    While reading this I couldn’t help but feel your pain and relate to you. While a completely
    different situation was mine, I know how it feels to be deeply involved in a church and to have to share what may be looked at as devastating news. I hope each day is brighter and you continue to find peace and joy in the Lord.

    Amy

  3. Aunt Linda permalink
    November 10, 2010 7:05 pm

    I guess I was one of the last to know.I couldn’t really believe it was true.I pray for you and the kids for healing and acceptance.I have never been where you are right now but I will say I am truly glad you are doing so much better.just want to tell you I love you and God bless you

  4. JimmyDean permalink
    November 12, 2010 10:26 am

    Dear Will, thank you for your honesty and openness. I pray that you continue to open yourself to be walking, talking, preaching example of Christ’s grace to all in your community and church. God is good…All the time…

  5. November 17, 2010 6:55 pm

    Will, I’m glad for you for all the input and support you’ve received from your church community and your colleagues.

    I won’t thank you for your courage or your self-disclosure–I suspect these come pretty naturally for you.

    I do appreciate, however, the helpful example of humility and self-disclosure you are for the church and to other pastors.

    For me this blog entry is not an example of “airing [your] dirty laundry inappropriately,” but is a gracious example of “speaking the truth in love.”

    Ron Goetz
    Recovering Pastor Wannabe

  6. November 29, 2010 8:59 am

    Hi Will, I’m just reading this and sending prayers and virtual hugs your way. As others have said, thank you for your honesty and vulnerability. Deep peace to you.

  7. February 5, 2011 10:05 pm

    Hey Will, I’ve been away from the blogosphere for a long time and just checked your blog for the first time in a long time… hopin the best for you my brother.. prayin for you tonight… Romans 8:28

  8. October 18, 2011 6:45 am

    Will, it’s been a year now. How’re things going for you?

  9. May 19, 2020 2:59 am

    My name is Leticia Holding. And I am a professional academic writer with many years of experience in writing.

    My primary goal is to solve problems related to writing. And I have been doing it for many years. I have been with several associations as a volunteer and have assisted people in many ways.
    My love for writing has no end. It is like the air we breathe, something I cherish with all my being. I am a passionate writer who started at an early age.
    I’m happy that I`ve already sold several copies of my works in different countries like USA, Russia and others too numerous to mention.
    I also work in a company that provides assistance to many students from different parts of the world. Students always come to me because I work no matter how hard their projects are. I help them to save money, because I feel happy when people come to me for writing help.

    Academic Writer – Leticia – Jason Blois Team

Leave a comment