Skip to content

Name that stick! Caption Contest-Poll

February 14, 2008

When I took liturgy class at Eden we had an unbelievably long vocabulary test.  It seems that there is not one item in the church without a cool liturgical name.  We had to know the difference between a cassock and an alb, an altar and a prie dieu, a narthex and a chanc…. you get the idea.

So I asked our teacher what these are called:

I’ve never gotten a satisfactory answer.  Cokesbury calls them “candlelighters.”  That seems too straightforward and blah for a cool liturgical item.

Let’s name it, shall we?

  •  Acolyte Stick
  • Flamethrower
  • Wick Stick
  • Liturgical Fire Hazard
  • Other

Please respond.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. The ArachNerd permalink
    February 15, 2008 7:34 am

    Acolyter?

  2. Nicole permalink
    February 15, 2008 8:57 am

    Stick that Carries the Fire of God

  3. February 15, 2008 9:43 am

    God on a stick?

  4. February 15, 2008 9:54 am

    My nine year old son says they are called “acolyte thingies” 🙂

  5. February 15, 2008 11:52 am

    Someone who knows Latin should be able to provide the Latin equivalent of “candle lighter” or “candle lighter and snuffer”. That should give us a good fancy-sounding name.

  6. Layman Erik permalink
    February 15, 2008 7:47 pm

    We just had that conversation a couple of weeks ago at church.

  7. Jerry permalink
    March 4, 2008 10:34 am

    Snuffalighter

    Not to be confused with that dreaded disease “Snuffalightis”

  8. Thomas FRAZIER permalink
    April 1, 2013 5:04 pm

    Acolyte stick

  9. Nat permalink
    November 4, 2013 9:21 pm

    I’ve been a devout and lifelong Methodist. I’ve also lived my life in a small South Carolinian town. I’ve always known them as Acolyte’s Wands. Candlelighter is, however, a commonly accepted terms.

  10. May 20, 2016 9:56 am

    Regards! I value this.

  11. July 3, 2016 6:57 pm

    Great weblog here! Also your site lots up fast!
    What web host are you the usage of? Can I get your associate
    hyperlink to your host? I desire my site loaded up as quickly as
    yours lol

Leave a comment