Skip to content

Ukulele as a Subversive Rock and Roll Instrument

November 8, 2009
tags: ,

I love the electric guitar, and I wouldn’t trade my Telecasters for much of anything. But it seems to me that the electric guitar is so mainstream as to be a respectable, establishment instrument.

There’s something punk about the uke. It’s very portable and can go anywhere. Heck, you can almost hide the thing. It’s not taken seriously as an instrument by most mainstream musicians or fans. It’s easy to start playing and you can play almost any style on it.

Yeah, the uke is punk rock. If you don’t believe me check out GUGUG on YouTube. It rocks.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2009 3:25 am

    I couldn’t agree more and it’s why I don’t really like the Ukulele Orchestra – they’re just a shade too virtuoso to be inclusive. They make you feel like giving up rather than having a bash.

    Joe Strummer was into the uke I think… and White Riot works great on a ukulele even if the lyrics are oddly out of kilter with today somehow.

  2. November 13, 2009 3:57 pm

    I’ve heard that a uke can be hidden under a graduation gown. Not sure if its true or not.

Leave a Reply

