Skip to content

I’m In Love

August 4, 2009

We were standing in the kitchen and my wife looked me in the eye.  “You’re in love, aren’t you?”

I broke eye contact.  I had to admit it.  “Yes.”

She smiled and let out a little laugh.  “I knew it!”

It’s true.  I have fallen in love, and I’m not ashamed to say it.  Yadi the Wonder Puppy has stolen my heart.

A couple of weeks ago our family was doing some outside work – weeding the landscaping, rearranging the garage.  And we discovered the most adorable puppy we had ever seen.  Okay, every new puppy is the most adorable one you’ve ever seen.  He looked really hungry and shy.  He found a little cove between some boxes in the garage and watched my family as we swept and hung hooks and rearranged containers.  He made his way to the back yard where Ogre the Extremely Hyper Lab mix (who howls back at the trains at night) shared his food and water, and wrestled and played a while.

Was he a neighbor’s pup?  A stray?  Did someone dump him?  We don’t really know.  What we do know is that the next day, Saturday, he hung around our yard again.  And on Sunday he greeted everyone next door at church.  The ladies in the nursery brought him upstairs and let the kids play with him.  And after church Katy decided he could come into the house.

And I fell for him.  So did the whole family.

We decided to name him Yadi after Yadier Molina, the St. Louis Cardinals All-Star Gold Glove catcher.  We are big Cards fans in this house, and we especially love Yadier Molina.  Both of our boys spend lots of time behind the plate in catcher’s gear, so they love trying to learn how to pick off base runners by watching the best in the business.  Also, the name Yadier has a Hebrew root meaning friend or companion.  Could there be a better meaning for a doggie’s name?

Nobody has come looking for him to claim him.  There are no “missing puppy” signs in the neighborhood.  And make no mistake – he’s ours.  Actually, given the way he hung around for three days before we made a decision I think he adopted us.  If anyone comes looking for him now they can’t have him back.

Well, we’ve taken him to the vet and got his first round of puppy shots.  He’s about 10 weeks old now and already weighs over 19 pounds. I taught him to sit and to lie down on command.  Our older son is working on “stay,” which is working out very well.  Our younger son loves to take him on his daily walk.  He’s housebreaking quite well – we’re using a crate method and he’s doing great with very few accidents.  He’s clearly a very intelligent puppy.

As he gets bigger he gets more of a German Shepherd look, which is bittersweet for me.  When I was in 7th grade my art teacher gave me a German Shepherd pup who only lived for a few weeks.  I loved that pup, and I was the one who found him dead.  I was devastated.  Since then I’ve always admired German Shepherds but I was always reminded of the heartbreak that I experienced with Zeus.  So maybe that experience has predisposed me to fall hard for Yadi.

Last night as Katy and I were getting a few essentials at the store for our vacation we passed by the pet supplies.  I stopped at dog toys and said, “Yadi stuff!”  (I can’t go to the store without at least looking at Yadi stuff).  She said, “You’re going to miss that dawg more than you’ll miss the kids!”  Not true, but I will miss him.  And when we get back I’m sure he will look huge to us.  He has gained more than four pounds over the last week, and he still looks lean.

I’ve fallen in love with a puppy.  He’s my babydog.  Before long I’m sure he’ll be a 120-pound lap dog.  And I’ll love every minute of it.

Yadi after bathtime

Yadi after bathtime

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2009 10:58 am

    I am so glad Yadi found you. His hanging around at the beginning reminds me of when Cub first came around the corner and waved her front paws at us (then landed them on us), as if to say, “Hey! There’s my people! I’ve been wondering when y’all were going to get here!”

    Enjoy every minute, as I know you will.

  2. August 4, 2009 11:36 am

    What a great story, and what a great dog. Thanks for sharing that Will. I just called my dog over for a quick snuggle. I know what you mean about the dog choosing you. Our dog Basil (named for the children’s book “From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankwiler) was a stray that we found at a no-kill shelter.

    Anytime anyone at the shelter picked her up, she would let out a screeching cry that made the vets there think she was injured, yet they never found anything. Then when we came to visit the shelter, we took this timid little thing outside, we played with her for a little while and we saw her start to gain some confidence, then she crawled into Sarah’s lap and gave her a little kiss. I think at that moment she chose us. We took her back into the shelter to put her away (because we had vowed to “just look”) I picked her up to put her back in the kennel, and she didn’t make a sound, she just rested in my arms, I knew I had somehow gained her trust. I carried her to my car instead of the kennel, and now she is on my lap.

    So I know what you are talking about. I am in love with three ladies. My wife, my daughter, and my Basil.

Leave a Reply

