Skip to content

Memory Lane – Willie and Scotty’s 45s

February 28, 2009

My brother and I used to hang out in a room that our family called “the room.”  The room was converted from a garage to a sort of family entertainment room.  We thought it was awesome.  One entire wall was (and still is) bookshelves.  Though our parents hardly ever drank there was a bar with stemmed glasses hanging above.  The stereo was installed in the bookshelves and large speakers were mounted in the corners.

Here are some YouTube videos of a few of the songs on heavy rotation from our 45 collection.  (45s, for you whippersnappers out there, were 7″ vinyl records, often referred to as “singles,” because there was a single song on each side.  The record spun at 45 revolutions per minute, hence the name 45).

Level 42 – Something About You.  (embedding disabled). You are probably all familiar with this song.  It was possibly the first song to make me take notice of the bass guitar, and Mark King still makes me want to be a better bassist.

Chris De Burgh – Don’t Pay the Ferryman.  (embedding disabled).  I liked the creepiness of this song and video.  This song is the reason I can forgive De Burgh for “The Lady In Red.”

Re-Flex – The Politics of Dancing.  I bought this 45 because Re-Flex opened for the Police when I saw them at SIU Arena on the Synchronicity tour.  This song reminds me of The Fixx.

Martin Briley – The Salt In My Tears.  A great break-up song if I ever heard one.

And another familiar one to play us out.  SCIENCE!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2009 5:45 pm

    Man, those bring some memories!

  2. April 10, 2009 10:29 am

    So as I was thumbing through the stack of vinyl that I salvaged from “the room” years ago, I actually still have She Blinded Me With Science, The Politics of Dancing, and The Salt in My Tears… along with tons of other great stuff.

Leave a Reply

