Skip to content

My favorite U2

February 27, 2009

My brother Scott’s favorite band of all time is the U2.  I love the U2.  I enjoy listening to the U2 on the CDs and looking them up on the YouTubes.  His Friday Five this week is his favorite U2 songs, and I have to agree with his list; it’s a good one.

U2 aren’t my favorite band, but they are way, way up there.  Ask me my favorite U2 song and the answer might change from day to day, but the answer I’ll give you most often is the live version of Bad from the Wide Awake in America EP.  The original version from The Unforgettable Fire is great, but there was always something about that live version that got to me.  There’s a little extra drama, a little more energy, and something just special about this live version.  In hindsight I think it shows a band transitioning from ordinary greatness toward greatness of historical proportion.  They were clearly reaching for a peak and hungry for something great.

In my mind they reached their peak with Achtung Baby.  That CD still sounds like it could be their new one.  It’s as fresh and exciting now as it was on its release date.  Everything since (and I will include what I think are their weakest efforts, Zooropa and Pop) has been great, but Achtung was epic.

For now, though, enjoy my favorite version of my favorite U2 song.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Christy permalink
    February 27, 2009 3:33 pm

    This made the hair on my arms stand on end. It was great. I sat at my computer and sang. Love the blog!!

Leave a Reply

