Skip to content

The Random Music Meme

December 17, 2008

Okay Arturo and Scotty, here are the first lines of 25 random iTunes songs.  How many can you spot?  Remember, NO GOOGLING!  Anyone want to play along?

  1. I spent one night with you baby, now you’s trying to trick poor me
  2. Got you some legs, baby that just won’t quit; got you a pretty boy and he looks pretty hip
  3. I want somebody to tell me ‘fore I blow my stack
  4. Every time I get burdened, I steal away somewhere
  5. Oh, where have you been, my blue eyed son?
  6. Oh baby, it’s a sin to tell a lie!
  7. You know you’re a sweet little heartbreaker
  8. Anger, he smiles, towering in shiny metallic purple armor
  9. Once I was a soldier, I rode on a big white horse
  10. From a distance the world looks blue and green, and the snow-capped mountains white
  11. It happened long time ago, and it changed my life for once and all
  12. Oh, I’ve got to ask myself what we’ve done wrong
  13. Be careful little eyes what you see; It’s the second glance that ties your hands as darkness pulls the strings
  14. Day by day, night after night, blinded by the neon lights
  15. Why are there so many songs about rainbows and what’s on the other side?
  16. Born under a bad sign, been down since I began to crawl
  17. If we look back at time gone past, bad moves brought us to the wrong side
  18. Amazing grace, how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me
  19. Only a tramp was Lazarus that day, he who lay down by the rich man’s gate
  20. Baby, I’m hot just like an oven, I need your lovin’.
  21. I’m giving up this time on all the things I used to do; I’ve been rolling and a tumbling just to get to you
  22. Going back to Dallas, take my razor and my gun
  23. Oh, the streets of Rome are filled with rubble, ancient footprints are everywhere.
  24. Well East-coast girls are hip, I really dig those styles they wear
  25. Just like old saxophone Joe when he’s got the hogshead up on his toe

Wow, that’s pretty interesting!  Some obvious, some obscure.  I’m surprised that I only had to skip one instrumental and one track from Los Straitjackets’ Rock en Espanol (because I can’t transcribe Spanish lyrics).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Layman Erik permalink
    December 17, 2008 11:43 pm

    Wow,

    I’m not very good at this I guess. Or I’m just weary from so much grading, or something.

    I just know a couple of Bob Dylan songs and #18 Amazing Grace.

    #5 A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall
    #23. When I Paint My Masterpiece.

    Oh and I see another I recognize

    #15 Rainbow Connection

    Oh and I see #7 – Foxy Lady – Except I thought the little heartbreaker was “cute” not “sweet”

    #24 California Girls

  2. December 18, 2008 12:29 pm

    Well Erik, the shuffle brought up Foxey Lady from the BBC Sessions, and Jimi got the lyrics wrong as printed. And in my CD collection you’ll find plenty of obscure stuff no one will get. Seriously, lots of blues fanatics would be hard pressed to know “What Kind Of Gal Is That” by Jody Williams.

  3. December 18, 2008 1:51 pm

    Lyle Lovett “Cryin Shame” immediately jumped out at me. SRV’s “Crossfire” too. And “Tramp On the Street” amazingly made both of our lists. (Love that song.)

    The question is, which version of Rainbow Connection? The one on my iPod is Willie Nelson’s cover. 🙂

  4. December 18, 2008 1:53 pm

    Sarah McLachlan

  5. December 18, 2008 11:14 pm

    There’s only one Rainbow Connection, and that’s with Kermit the Frog.

    I only got four. But that’s probably because of my curse. You see, I can remember the music (vocals, guitars, horns, whatever) of just about any song, but I can never remember the words. I have to think really hard to sing the words to Amazing grace, but I could hum three of the four parts from memory (alto pars are weird).

  6. December 19, 2008 2:53 pm

    I could name about 8 of those… maybe more if I could devote a few minutes to it. Thanks for playing.

Leave a Reply

