Skip to content

Blackberry Bible

December 15, 2008

I recently replaced my old cell phone with a Blackberry, which is one seriously cool device.  I’m connected everywhere I go – phone calls, emails, text and pix messages, twitter, blogs, news, weather, it’s all with me instantly.

The folks at LifeChurch.tv (about whom I know nothing theologically) have released a great, free little app for Blackberry, iPhone, and the good old computer called YouVersion.  It’s a portable, connected Bible.

The good news:  The application is free, contains several English and non-English translations (including the TNIV, The Message, the New Living Translation, KJV, and others), and has great features like bookmarking, verse sharing, and others.  The interface is friendly, fast and readable.

The bad news: no NA-27 Greek, NRSV or RSV.  So I use The Message, which I like to read because its unfamiliar language often provokes thought and prayer.

If you are a connected pastor, consider downloading this little application and you’ll never be without your portable Bible again!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2008 3:01 pm

    I’ve been frustrated by the lack of NRSV in electronic Bibles too. The only one I can find line is at oremus.org. I’m with you on The Message.

    I wonder if it is because the groups that put them out are usually evangelical, and thus shun the NRSV, or if it is because the rights to the NRSV are expensive.

    Anyway, thanks for the tip, Will.

  2. December 17, 2008 5:02 pm

    The Bible Study Tools at bible.crosswalk.com have the NRSV (if you fill out their free registration). I wonder if the NRSV is cost-prohibitive for licensing; but the websites that put Bibles online are definitely of the conservative-evangelical strain.

Leave a Reply

