Skip to content

Nonsense Songs

November 21, 2008

I am not a no-nonsense person.  I like nonsense music.  Thanks to Scotty, here are five songs with absolute nonsense titles.  Prepare to cringe – one of the most godawful songs ever written is posted here.

Bonus – The Chips with Rubber Biscuit.  Sure you know it by the Blues Brothers, but here’s the original!

Bonus 2 – The Edsels with Rama Lama Ding Dong

(Seriously I knew I had to atone for posting the crapola that is Sussudio.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2008 11:52 pm

    Good stuff, Will! I published a piece on blogcritics.com a few months ago that covers some of this same territory; here’s the link: http://blogcritics.org/archives/2007/03/08/194246.php

    I guess the bottom line is, those nonsense syllables are just so dang fun to sing!

  2. November 21, 2008 11:53 pm

    BTW Bip Bop has to be one of my favorite McCartney songs ever, along with “Ooh You” from his solo debut LP McCartney. The man IS sheer music — who needs lyrics?

  3. November 22, 2008 1:11 pm

    It was nice to hear from you!

    The 99 balloons song is nonsensical to me.

    And Revolution #9 by the Beatles is of course, my least favorite work of theirs. As fabulous as I think that they are I just don’t get it.

    Have a great weeked.

  4. November 22, 2008 9:34 pm

    Good stuff!

    May I nominate a runner-up? Let’s go with “My Ding A Ling” by Chuck Berry.

    “When I was a little biddy boy
    My grandma bought me a cute little toy
    Two Silver bells on a string
    She told me it was my ding-a-ling-a-ling………”

  5. November 24, 2008 10:54 am

    I know I was warned . . . but still I clicked on the link to Sussusdio . . .

    Cant . . . get . . . the image . . . the sound . . . out of my mind!!!!

    Help me . . . please . . .

  6. November 24, 2008 12:24 pm

    Sorry Rick.

    So, do you prefer Phil Collins live or in the stu- stu- studio?

Leave a Reply

