Skip to content

Push-Ups, Day One

August 18, 2008

Okay, last week I decided to try the 0-100 push-up challenge.  I did my initial assessment which is to do as many good-form push-ups as you can physically muster.

My fears had come true and my deep suspicion was confirmed: I’ve lost some serious muscle mass since surgery.  I had no doubt, but it is worse than I thought.  I’m not sure any of my push-ups were good form at all, and I could barely do ten.  And my pecs were sore for days.

I used to be able to knock off three sets of ten easily, without doing them regularly.  And that’s when I weighed 300.  Now at just over 200 I couldn’t do one set of ten.  Yikes.  I’m out of shape.

Today I started the routine.  I had to do two sets of seven, one of five, then one of four, then one of at least five.  For the first set of seven I did regular push-ups.  Then for the next three sets I did knee push-ups.  Then back to regular push ups for the last set of at least five (I managed nine).

It’s clear to me what needs to happen.  I need to build some muscle mass by sticking with this and some bike riding.  And I probably need to go back to supplementing my protein to help that happen – getting at least 60 grams of low-calorie protein is not easy in a roux-en-y pouch.

But I feel pretty good now.  Starting this routine is a form of repentance for me – taking a new direction that leads to life rather than wallowing in the death-dealing way of complacency.

(and my wife likes it)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2008 2:46 pm

    Before I work out, I eat an apple for the simple and complex carbs to give me energy, and then 3 egg beaters with one whole real egg (usually jumbo or extra large). Each eggbeater has 6g protein, jumbos have 8 g, and extra large have 7. With that, I can eat an easy 25-26 g protein without having to deal with the high cost and the saturated fat from protein supplements. The best part is that it tastes good, too. Additionally, egg protein is the gold standard of protein. Your body’s gonna use it more efficiently than any other form, including chicken and tuna.

    I always follow a workout with a pear and Quaker Oats weight control oatmeal made with half a cup of vanilla soy milk. That’s another 10 grams of protein. Plus, it’ll help boost your HDL and lower your LDL, something protein supplements won’t do.

    Bests wishes for you on your push-up training.

  2. absurdemest permalink
    August 19, 2008 8:10 am

    Benefiber helped me through my difficulties.

  3. August 19, 2008 8:41 am

    Kurt, that’s more food than I can eat at a sitting! I will have to try the oats & soy milk thing, though I tend to like Kashi cereals for their protein and fiber content (and flavor). But I probably should be eating more eggs/egg beaters.

    Josh, I’m talking about push-ups not push-outs. Benefiber would be, let’s say – a solution to the wrong problem.

  4. August 19, 2008 2:00 pm

    I was going to make a comment. But then I thought of the fact that I’m a 67 year old retired elder in the UMC and I know what’s ahead for you. Forget I even came by.

Trackbacks

  1. Bookmarks about Calorie

Leave a Reply

