Skip to content

Friday Five – the best medicine

August 15, 2008

via Snottydoodles, here are five songs that never cease to bust me up.  Warning: there be a little bit o’ coarse language in the songs ahead.

  • The Notorious Cherry Bombs – It’s Hard to Kiss the Lips at Night That Chew Your Ass Out All Day Long.  Seriously, my marriage is great (19 years now!) but this song kills me.
  • Todd Snider – Conservative Christian, Right-wing Republican, Straight, White American Males.  Actually, most of Snider’s music cracks me up.  See also Talkin’ Seattle Grunge Rock Blues.
  • Lyle Lovett – Here I Am.  Somewhere in my garage I have a cassette tape of Lyle and his Large Band performing this song with comedian Steven Wright doing the spoken word parts.
  • Robert Earl Keen – the Five Pound Bass.  I could have picked a lot of Keen songs (It’s the Little Things, Merry Christmas from the Family, The Front Porch Song, Bluegrass Widow, Copenhagen, etc.)  Lyle Lovett’s old college housemate shares a similar dry wit and sensibility.  This song reflects the way a lot of guys I know talk, and all the imagery is dead on.
  • Antsy McClain and the Trailer Park Troubadours – I Was Just Flipped Off by a Silver Haired Old Lady Clearly I have a soft spot for funny country-folk songs with extraordinarily long titles but this one simply can’t be left off the list.  You owe it to yourself to click this one.

Bonus:  She Left Me For Jesus by Hayes Carll  (Only click play if you have a sense of humor and realize he’s singing in character)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

