Skip to content

My butt hurts!

August 13, 2008

And my legs are sore.

Since I had the bariatric surgery for weight loss almost two years ago I look and feel better than I have since high school.  Katy says I look better than I ever have.  I certainly feel healthier.

And I’ve done a pretty good job sticking to the diet.  Lots of protein, fewer carbs, smaller portions, lots to drink.  Lay off the starchy stuff – it tends to clog up the opening from my pouch to my intestine so it tends to – let’s say – find an alternate route out.  So no pasta.

But I haven’t done a bang-up job on the exercise front.  I need to.  I can tell I’ve lost some muscle mass along with the fat.  And finding exercise I enjoy is the real bugaboo.

So I washed up the old bicycle, fixed the brakes (my rear brake cable was frayed and corroded so it didn’t work), bought some bicycle shorts (you know the ones) and have been riding a few miles.  It’s a great time, but having lost some muscle it’s taking far more work than I expected to move those pedals.

And even with a gel seat and the padded shorts, sitting on that saddle hurts my booty.  I’m sore today after only two bike rides.  Two.

This is going to take some getting used to.  But I’m going to do it.  I’m likely to blog about it as an accountability thing.

So, all you experienced bikers – any advice for the sore booty syndrome?

One Comment leave one →
  1. rev mommy permalink
    August 13, 2008 1:41 pm

    I am not riding a bike but I am becoming more intentional in the exercise thing.

    The LH, myself and the girls are all in karate together — and it’s helped a lot.

    I think ANY exercise helps.

Leave a Reply

