Skip to content

Verizon Wireless and Broken Relationships

July 23, 2008

“Motorola isn’t in the business of selling cell phones.  They’re in the business of selling relationships.  Oh, you think it’s not a relationship?  Try getting out of it!” – Leonard Sweet

I’m not a happy camper right now.

I’ve been a relatively happy Verizon Wireless customer for a number of years.  I have five lines on my current plan.  We’ve been good to them, they’ve been good to us.

(Well, we’ll not go into the politics of the whole Telecom Immunity thing).

A couple of days ago I dropped my phone on the sidewalk.  It’s been a tough phone, but it didn’t take this spill very well.

But here’s the rub.  I’m three weeks away from my “new every two” date – the date that I can negotiate a new contract and receive an additional $100 discount on a new phone.  Will Verizon cut me a break?  Will they reward me for being a good, loyal customer who has done thousands of dollars of business with them?

Nope.

The best I can do is file an insurance claim on the phone, pay my $50 deductible, and wait three weeks to get a better phone.

You’d think that customer loyalty would have some rewards.  It’s absolutely absurd that they can’t simply apply that discount now.

I really don’t think that moving the date up three weeks is that much to ask.  Seriously.  Three months would be out of the question.  Customer service means nothing to these people.  All they care about is the golden rule: the one with the gold makes the rules.

So sometime tomorrow I’ll be getting a RAZR identical to my old one.  And I’ll start looking at other cell phone providers.  Problem is, I suspect none of them will be any better.

Thanks a lot, Verizon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2008 4:14 pm

    My two bits, cause you needed them….
    Get the insurance, use it for what it is supposed to do, and then find the right verizon phone. Sprint isn’t any better, and I have heard T-Mobile and anybody else are not particularly amazing…though the opening sales pitch is quite the lure

  2. July 23, 2008 4:26 pm

    I know you’re right, David. I have the insurance and used it to replace the phone (which will be here tomorrow). I have nothing but good things to say about Asurion (the actual insurer). My son ran his first celly through the washing machine and Asurion delivered the new one to our door in less than 24 hours.

    Having a history of being a good customer used to mean something. It pains me that only corporation interests are served in the US, and the little guy gets the shaft every time.

    It’s just sad that Verizon can be so utterly unhelpful in this situation, and still receive the highest customer satisfaction ratings in the business. Lousy is as good as it gets.

  3. July 23, 2008 8:31 pm

    In this instance I have to agree.

    However, if you ever have the time and the money to make it to Ojai, CA and go to the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa…they make it worth your time and money to be there, and be served…well, with service, and care.

    This I have learned this past week as we were displaced for tenting and they accommodated us as well as anywhere I have ever been, served better food, offered better care, and attention, and earned their 5 star rating.

Leave a Reply

