Skip to content

The Faith We Sing – Help Me Out

July 6, 2008

I love an awful lot of the songs in The Faith We Sing for worship.

Well, I love singing the ones I know.  Problem is, I don’t know all that many.  I’m kind of removed from contemporary worship culture in a lot of ways, so I’m not exposed to a great number of those songs.  I spent a lot of years away from church camps and youth groups where a great number of those songs are learned.

Anyway, I feel like I’m in a chorus rut.  I want to learn some different songs from the book, but I am not a music reader.  Can anyone point me toward some CDs, iTunes, etc. that can teach me some of your favorites from the book?  Thanks.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2008 7:10 pm

    hymnsite.com has midis of TFWS.

  2. tnrambler permalink
    July 6, 2008 7:23 pm

    I believe that there is a guitar edition of TFWS if you want the chord charts or a lead sheet.

  3. Steve permalink
    July 7, 2008 7:40 am

    I’d sit down with the church music director at a keyboard and walk through the book, playing and singing some of the songs/choruses/hymns that look interesting.

    You may also want to invest in the CD Accompaniment edition of The Faith We Sing. You can get it from Cokesbury: http://www.cokesbury.com/forms/ProductDetail.aspx?pid=440490

  4. July 9, 2008 1:26 pm

    I don’t know that I’d classify anything in TFWS as contemporary. I need to connect you with our worship leader, Brandon Reeves: http://www.youtube.com/deaconbrandonreeves. From my experience, Brandon has one of the best combinations of understanding the music and theology.

    Plus, he is a blues guitar player so I’m sure you’ll like him! 😉

Leave a Reply

