Skip to content

Friday Five – Guitar Songs

June 13, 2008

Since Art took a blogging vacation, I haven’t been as good about posting Friday Fives, so I thought I would break that trend by posting five songs about one of my favorite subjects – the guitar.  Begin above with Lucinda Williams’ “Real Live Bleeding Fingers and Broken Guitar Strings,” which is one of the best song titles I have ever heard.

Next up let’s get the obvious out of the way with The Beatles and “While My Guitar Gently Weeps”  (be prepared when you hit play, the video begins with Ed Sullivan’s crowd shrieking.)

Maestro Johnny Cash sings about a little dark-haired boy with a “Tennessee Flat-Top Box.”  I love Roseanne Cash’s cover as well.

Albert King’s sense of humor comes through on “I Love My Lucy.”  This clip doesn’t have the best sound quality, but it is great.  Just don’t ask Albert to let you run your fingers up and down Lucy’s neck – that would make him mad as heck.  (Lucy is his Flying V).

No list like this could be complete without BB King’s “Lucille.” While not as funny as Albert’s “Lucy,” still a pretty great song and I love the video!

Come on, true believers.  Help me out with some of your favorite guitar songs.  (SRV’s “Lenny?”  Tom T. Hall’s “The Year That Clayton Delaney Died?” “Curtis Loew?”)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2008 10:51 am

    I agree with Clayton Delaney and Curtis Loew.

    How ’bout the wicked slide playing on Skynyrd’s “Mr. Banker,” about a 19-ah-50s Les Paul Guitar. I also love “Black Diamond Strings” by Guy Clark. Great stuff man.

  2. June 13, 2008 11:14 am

    From our conversation earlier, we have to include John Hiatt’s Perfectly Good Guitar to both of our lists!

Leave a Reply

