Skip to content

More Annual Conference Musings

June 10, 2008

My favorite part of Annual Conference is seeing colleagues and old friends, and making new connections.  I really enjoy time spent with my ordination class, my former pastors, and others.  Being a Metho-blogger has introduced me to Jason Woolever (Post-Methodist), with whom I probably have significant theological and hermeneutical differences, but who is a really nice guy and I’m sure a great pastor. 

And that, for me, is symbolic of the way we’re supposed to be as United Methodists.  Jason and I wouldn’t vote the same way on every issue, and we may even feel strongly and passionately about our votes.  But in the end we have a deep passion for the saving love of Jesus Christ, for the United Methodist Church (warts and all), for the Wesleyan way of discipleship, and for our Christian brothers and sisters.  That’s the way it’s supposed to be.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. rev mommy permalink
    June 11, 2008 8:25 pm

    I’m glad you got to see friends.
    Seeing friends is sometimes the ONLY good thing about AC.
    srsly.

  2. June 12, 2008 7:41 pm

    I can’t disagree, Rev Mommy. You are very right.

Leave a Reply

