Skip to content

Music Monday – Emmylou

June 9, 2008

“Slow, medium-tempo kind of real burning bluegrass songs that this band plays so well.”  Emmylou Harris’ crystalline voice, Sam Bush’s driving mandolin, with Roy Huskey Jr. holding down the bottom, oh good GRIEF this is good.

Walls of Time

I’ve got Emmy on the brain today, mostly because we hit a Barnes & Noble this week and heard part of her new album and part of Jakob Dylan’s new one – both due to be released tomorrow.  I want ’em both.

Emmylou Harris can do no wrong.  Musically, I mean.  She is always vital and vibrant, ahead of the trends.  She’s made music for years and years with hardly a misstep.  She will go down in music history as one of the all-time greats alongside folks like Ray Charles.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Layman Erik permalink
    June 11, 2008 12:08 am

    Funny you mention Emmylou.

    I was just getting raked over the coals on the bird hunting forum I frequent for simply stating that she makes me cringe. I wouldn’t mind going the rest of my life without hearing her sing.

    Glad she makes my friends happy though.

Leave a Reply

