Skip to content

Annual Conference Round-up

June 8, 2008

Back from Illinois Great Rivers Annual Conference.  Whatta year.  It wasn’t nearly as tedious as it has been in years past.  Last year I had a hard time coping because I was really keyed up about my commissioning and because the ballot process for General and Jurisdictional Conferences was a colossal waste of time and resources.  Seriously.  You couldn’t design a more slow, cumbersome and confusing process if you tried.

There were certain resolutions that the floor simply didn’t want to debate – it felt like we were tired of having the same dang arguments every dang year.  Shut up about ’em.  The authors of the resolutions made their points, we read ’em, move along.  Nothing to see here.

When I showed up on the morning of Day Two, guess what I saw?

Dad and the Rat

That photo was on the front page of The Current (daily AC edition), the newsletter of our Annual Conference.  [get it?  Great Rivers – the Current]  That’s me on the left and my daughter in the middle.  I don’t really know the guy on the right.

My daughter, BTW, was a youth delegate to AC for the first time.  She really enjoyed voting on the resolutions and connecting with other youth who are serious about their faith and their United Methodism.

All in all it was a pretty good year, which means I didn’t walk away ticked off like I have done in the past.  And with the connections I have built with other clergy and laypersons over the last few years I look forward to seeing some of my friends and colleagues.  We actually had a good time together.

Maybe I’ll report on something substantial next time, maybe I won’t.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

