Skip to content

Back In Bidness

May 21, 2008

I’m back in bidness, peoples!  After the death of my old laptop and too much time doing work from home, I now have a shiny new laptop.  I had $700 to spend (my wife and I agreed on the price) so I ended up with this model from Gateway, purchased at the Best Buy in Carbondale.

I’m happy.  It’s a Windows Vista machine, and I don’t see all the bad buzz about Vista so far.  Vista is a bit of a resource hog, granted, but that’s why I went with 3 gig of RAM instead of the usual 2.  Plus I got an AMD processor (IMHO AMD has a straw that reaches across the room and drinks Intel’s milkshake).  Everything rolls very fast and smooth as silk.

And there’s a webcam built right into the lid.

Big cup o\' Joe

Does that mean there’ll be new ukulele videos on YouTube?  Count on it!

Mostly what it means is that the blogging drought of late is over.  I can get back into my usual routine.  Also my recording software actually works well, which means I can start recording and remixing my music.  Awesome!

The bad news: my brother, Mr. I.T. (I pity the fool who don’t respect Mr. I.T.) cannot recover any of the data from my old hard drive.  But as I’ve said before, it’s amazing how quickly one can learn to live without it.  Most of the stuff I need for church was on a USB stick anyway.

I’m relieved to be back in business.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled programming.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2008 2:51 pm

    I won’t go into all of my Vista woes, but suffice it to say :
    1) My wife and I bought a new Vista desktop last summer. It was screamingly fast at first. It then proceeded to slow down over time, and now takes 15 minutes from power-on to email open.
    2) The anti-virus (a Vista “compatible” one) that we installed also installed a firewall that prevented the browser from accessing any websites unless we disable the firewall.
    3) The pop-up “are you sure you want to do that?” confirmations get old, fast.
    There are other things I could go into, but won’t. I used to make my living from doing technical support (DOS, Win95, 98, NT, etc) and I hate Vista, to the point that I bought a MacBook Pro for myself, and am in the process of flattening the Vista machine so we can install XP Pro on it. I wish you better luck than I had 🙂

  2. May 28, 2008 8:38 am

    commination says : I absolutely agree with this !

  3. May 28, 2008 2:56 pm

    So far, so good. No serious problems here. (Knocks wood)

  4. June 18, 2008 10:23 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Lithographically
    .

Leave a Reply

