Skip to content

The walls started shakin’, the earth was quakin’

April 18, 2008

Early this morning I was awakened by something like the rumble and roll of nearby thunder.  I heard things rattling on the dresser and in the house.  Since I had not yet had my coffee I didn’t take it too seriously.  I knew thunderstorms were in the forecast for today and I just figured it was thunder and I missed the crack.  But it lasted a bit too long.  I soon discovered that it had also awakened my wife and my daughter.

So we done had ourselves an earthquake.  Even felt an aftershock late this morning.  I sure hope I’m not asked about what sin caused this one at our next Residence in Ministry retreat.

The epicenter was near West Salem, Illinois which is located about fifty miles east of Salem, Illinois.  (Go figure that one out!)  We’re also about fifty miles from the epicenter as well.

My brother wrote up a Friday Five of “shakin'” songs, and I’ll play along.  Five songs tangentially related to earthquakes!

By the Light of the Moon was the first Los Lobos tape I bought (we bought tapes in those days!)  I immediately fell in love with the Wolves.  They combined rock, country, soul, western swing, blues, and traditional Mexican music into a wonderful musical stew; not to mention that Cesar Rosas and David Hidalgo are just monster guitarists.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2008 2:51 pm

    Ahhh – the Blues Brothers! It’s a toss-up for me between that scene & the scene in the Diner with Aretha, “Think!” – Good stuff, man.

    So, do you think Kelis’, “Milkshake” would count in this category? … you know you’re singing it now… admit it! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rZ-FAV9fBII

  2. April 22, 2008 8:02 am

    We felt it too but just slightly. I though it was caused by a fighter jet from the local Air Force base but when I turned on the news the next morning I discovered otherwise.

  3. March 6, 2014 10:04 pm

    This piece of writing is in fact a pleasant one it assists
    new internet people, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  4. July 1, 2014 2:04 am

    Wonderful web site. Plenty of useful information here.
    I am sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And of course, thanks on your effort!

Leave a Reply

