Skip to content

Free the Documents

March 26, 2008

dfd.png

I believe that you and I should be able to collaborate on documents even if we use different office suites.

I believe that I should be able to create a professional-looking document with my program that you can print beautifully with your program, and vice-versa.

I believe that no company or companies should have a monopoly on document formats.

If I decide that I like office suite B better than office suite A, I believe I should be able to completely uninstall suite A and use my old documents with suite B.

Today is Document Freedom Day.  OpenOffice.org is my office suite of choice for many reasons, and its support of open standards for document formats is simply one.  It is competitive, feature-rich, free, maintained by a community rather than a company, and (in my experience) more reliable than MS Office.  I’ve even used it to open Word documents that Word itself wouldn’t open.

I also believe that using a community-based, free office suite is good stewardship for churches because we have more important things (like mission) to spend our money on.

I’m proud to support Document Freedom Day, open standards and OpenOffice,org.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 12, 2008 5:01 pm

    Amen Brother!

Leave a Reply

