Skip to content

Five for Good Friday

March 21, 2008

Per Art, we’re playing a game where we find secular songs that in some way reference Good Friday.  This one may be tough!

  1. Procol Harum – Crucifiction Lane.   This album track from A Salty Dog puzzles me for a number of reasons.  First, its lyrics are written by Keith Relf Reid (like those of all Procol Harum songs), which means that they are weird and indecipherable to begin with.  Second is the odd spelling of Crucifixion, so I don’t know if Relf  Reid was making some kind of religious statement or if he is needed a primitive version of spellcheck.  Sorry, the only youtube clips I could find were bad covers of this tune.
  2. The Allman Brothers Band – It’s Not My Cross to Bear.  Quit your whining, Simon of Cyrene, and help the man out!  I’ll make up for the previous lack of a clip by giving you two of this tune.  First is a rare audio-only bootleg of the original Allmans doing the “Don’t Want You No More – It’s Not My Cross to Bear” medley live in Atlanta, 1970.  Second is a short clip of the current lineup demonstrating why Derek Trucks is one of the best electric slide players ever and a worthy heir to Duane Allman’s legacy.
  3. Bruce Springsteen – Darkness on the Edge of Town.
  4. Tori Amos – Crucify.
  5. The Mavericks – All You Ever Do Is Bring Me Down, but you came all the way from Arimathea to do it so I guess I’ll let you.

And purely because I love love love this song let’s hear Australia’s own (and AC/DC’s older brother) Easybeats express every preacher’s holy week dilemma – Monday I’ve got (Good) Friday On My Mind.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Disco permalink
    March 21, 2008 6:04 pm

    Keith Relf was never a member of Procol Harum. He was the singer with the Yardbirds, leading light in Renaissance, and died in the mid 70s. You are thinking of Keith Reid who of course is still going strong, as are Procol Harum. Any spelling anomaly is deliberate.

  2. March 21, 2008 6:36 pm

    Oops! I’ve had the Yardbirds on the brain the last few days since I bought Blueswailing ’64. Keith Reid is correct, but his lyrics are still always baffling!

  3. March 22, 2008 2:51 pm

    I thought something was wrong with Relf being in Procol Harem but it’s a great list anyway. Thanks for playing Will.

Leave a Reply

