Skip to content

Friday Five: Heavenly music

February 22, 2008
  • Show Me Heaven – Maria McKee. Maria is my favorite singer in the world. Equal parts Aretha Franklin, Dolly Parton, Bernadette Peters and Patti Smith. If I have to explain to you why that’s cool, you’ll never get it.
  • Heaven’s Just a Sin Away – Kelly Willis. I just adore all things Kelly Willis (including this cover of the Kendalls hit) ever since I picked up her awesome CD What I Deserve. Kelly is married to singer-songwriter Bruce Robison, brother of singer-songwriter Charlie Robison, husband of Emily Robison of the Dixie Chicks. Evidently the four of them perform together occasionally. Wish I could be there, as I’m a fan of all four.
  • If Heaven Ain’t a Lot Like Dixie – Hank Williams, Jr. I was never a big Hank Jr. fan. I don’t hate his music, but everyone else in my senior class absolutely worshiped him. So this was the first song that came to mind, for better or worse.
  • Tears in Heaven – Eric Clapton. Clapton is a personal hero and musical inspiration to me. My first son’s middle name is Conor, in honor of EC’s late son for whom this song was written.
  • I was one of those youths traumatized in about 1982 by attending one of those “rock seminars” where somebody tried to convince us that rock was the devil’s music and if you listened to it he was gonna getcha. The centerpiece of this abusive talk was the playing of Led Zep’s Stairway backwards. I have long since gone thru my Zep phase (college undergrad; coincided strongly with my Pink Floyd phase) and I consider Stairway to be the most overtired, overrated song in the history of rock. I’ve had enough. But Stanley Jordan’s absolute mastery of the instrument here is transcendent. Dig it!
    5 Comments leave one →
    1. February 22, 2008 10:50 am

      Tears in Heaven and Stairway to Heaven were two of the well known songs I refered to.
      But you gotta love Stanley Jordan. What a monster!

      I could go the rest of my life and not hear another Hank JR. song! His dad and his son, I could listen them all day long, though.

    2. The ArachNerd permalink
      February 22, 2008 11:39 am

      I was totally expecting you to pull out Warrant’s Heaven isn’t too far away… oh wait… that would be my wife… never mind!

    3. February 22, 2008 5:24 pm

      Please come by my site for an URGENT prayer request!!! Jennifer

    4. Layman Erik permalink
      February 23, 2008 10:21 am

      You know I love you, Willie, but to be honest that Stanley Jordan noise hurt my ears. I don’t get it.

    5. February 27, 2008 2:22 pm

      Will,

      Have you checked out Trace Bundy yet? I have been watching / listening to his album “Adapt.”

      I thought Monte Montgomery was good on acoustic. What Trace does is just stunning. On one song, he uses 3 capos!

    Leave a Reply

