Skip to content

123 Book Meme

February 19, 2008

Picked this one up at Art’s place.  I didn’t recognize his book, but I’m playing along anyway.  The results were oddly humorous and telling.

Here are the rules:

  • Pick up the nearest book of 123 pages or more. (No cheating!)
  • Find Page 123 (My page 123 is blank. I used page 124.)
  • Find the first 5 sentences.
  • Post the next 3 sentences.
  • Tag 5 people.

“The limp, loose, wrapped ends break sooner, and will not only mar the tie-block inlay, but scar the saddle as well, causing buzzing and intonation problems.  Often the treble strings are color-coded to identify the string tension (red=high; yellow=super-high).  Don’t tie the colored end to the bridge!”

Yep, that’s from the Guitar Player Repair Guide: How to Set Up, Maintain, and Repair Electrics and Acoustics (Expanded & Updated 2nd Edition) by Dan Erlewine (San Francisco: Miller Freeman Books, 1994).

I don’t know that I’ve ever read the chapters on setting up classical guitars.  I don’t have one.

My hymnal was equally close, so I had to make a choice – and hymnals don’t properly have numbered pages.

Okay: I have to tag five.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2008 4:16 pm

    Playing too, in my own fashion, but I’ll have to post later tonight. I have posted once today and the family I wrote about still needs prayer. If you get a chance, come by. See ya Preach – Jennifer

  2. February 19, 2008 10:05 pm

    “Many of us (especially men) were taught that asking for help is a sign of weakness; it is nobler to die trying alone than to reach out for support. This, of course, is ka-ka. Have you ever wrestled for hours or days with a software problem or a knock in your car engine, when you could have simply picked up the telephone and called technical support or taken the car to a mechanic? ”

    From “Why Your Life Sucks”

    The sad thing is this book has some great quotes and stuff and page 123 was not one of them.

    Tagged:

    Pistol Pete
    http://pistolpete.wordpress.com/

    southernfriedfatty
    http://southernfriedfatty.wordpress.com/

    http://rationreality.com/

    http://seemedlikeagoodideathetime.wordpress.com/wp-admin/index.php

    http://sexycoolsuperspy.wordpress.com/

    Sorry about putting the whole link in, Will. I know how to do links in my blog but don’t know how to edit them in comments. I told ya….I’m totally redneck and ignorant.

  3. February 19, 2008 10:07 pm

    HELP, PREACH!!!!! Edit my links before I look like a total ignorant, backwoods hillbilly. Oh wait, I am one.

  4. Layman Erik permalink
    February 20, 2008 6:56 am

    Shepherds quake at the sight; Glories stream from heaven afar; Heavenly hosts sing Alleluia! Christ the Saviour is born! Christ the Saviour is born!

    Computer next to the piano – nearest book on piano was Crystal’s old Free Methodist Hymnal – Hymns of Faith and Life

  5. February 20, 2008 4:37 pm

    “One might suggest that the Star Wars movies are designed for children, and that portraying the notion that war is hell would be too gruesome and emotionally distrubing for a young age group. But this defense fails for the simple reason that, unless it is shown to be morally questionable (and that, presumably, is something most children could relate to on some level), violence is rendered part of the everyday, ‘natural’ fabric of existence – at the very least, not a bad thing, and, at most, the (only) path to redemption.”

    (I’m only including two sentences because there are so many dependent clauses involved! So complicated!)

Leave a Reply

