Skip to content

Friday Five – Cadillac Songs

February 1, 2008
  • No Money Down – Chuck Berry. No, the Cadillac is not in the title but it is really my favorite Cadillac song.

As I was motivatin’
Back in town
I saw a Cadillac sign
Sayin’ “No Money Down”
So I eased on my brakes
And I pulled in the drive
Gunned my motor twice
Then I walked inside
Dealer came to me
Said “Trade in you Ford
And I’ll put you in a car
That’ll eat up the road
Just tell me what you want
And then sign on that line
And I’ll have it brought down to you
In a hour’s time”

  • Cadillac Ranch – Bruce Springsteen. “Open up them engines and let ’em roar, tearin’ up the highway like a big ol’ dinosaur.”
  • Red Cadillac and a Black Mustache – Warren Smith. Another brilliant rockabilly tune from Sun records. Who you been lovin’ since I been gone?; Somebody saw you at the cabaret, Dinin’ and dancin’ to the break of day. He has deep blue eyes, had plenty of cash; He had a red cadillac and a black moustache.
  • Long White Cadillac – Well, Dave Alvin wrote this classic about the night Hank Williams died but I’m going to nominate the version by Dwight Yoakam from Dwight Live, purely because Pete Anderson eats that Fender alive!
  • Brand New Cadillac – this wonderful track was originally the B-side to Vince Taylor’s Pledging My Love 45, and the Clash covered it as well, but I’m inclined toward the Brian Setzer Orchestra version.

Honorable Mention: Pink Cadillac by Springsteen, and by Jerry Lee Lewis with Springsteen. Not listed because the Natalie Cole version nearly ruined it for me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2008 10:53 am

    No Money Down is a great song and it as about a Cadillac… by that token Maybellene could be listed too.

    My favorite version of Long White Cadillac is the Blasters’ version and The Clash’s cover of Brand New Cadillac is one of my favorite tracks but I listed it on something else…

    All great choices, Will.

  2. February 1, 2008 11:11 am

    Hi
    i like the way you are writing ! This is something really awesome … its really cool to see this kinds of posts … Fantastic .

  3. February 1, 2008 8:23 pm

    Thank you for the nod to Dwight – he’s far better than a “dirt sandwich”, Ms. Stone. I like the Johnny Cash song One Piece at A Time, too. It was last year that I heard that song for the FIRST time. Loved it. Have a great weekend Will. – Jennifer

  4. The ArachNerd permalink
    February 4, 2008 7:48 am

    Actually, if No Money Down qualifies; so would John Hiatt’s Tennessee Plates. “They were looking for a Cadillac with Tennessee plates…” wouldn’t it?

Leave a Reply

