Skip to content

RPM ’08 Ideas

January 31, 2008

Man, it’s hard to wait one more day to get started.  Here are some song ideas I have floating around:

  • At my seminary graduation, the guest preacher described Jesus’ love as a “gritty, unsentimental kind of love.”  I wrote that phrase down on my program.  I dig the contrast between a gritty, earthy love and a mushy, saccharine love.  I may title the album “Gritty Love.”  Whaddaya think?
  • A tribute to Forrest and Doug, the Hurd Brothers.  Their brother John is my uncle by marriage, and Forrest was my guitar teacher when I was a kid.  He was always the person I wanted to impress with my own playing, and he was just incredible.  Best guitar player I ever heard, no kidding.  Forrest and Doug were tragically killed in a car crash on their way home from a gig.
  • “Feverish Angel.”  I don’t know what that song is yet, but I’ve had the title for a long time.
  • An African-influenced instro called “Baobab.”

That’s all I have today, but it’s a good start!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 31, 2008 11:17 pm

    See if there is anything here that inspires….I have been rolling over in my mind the concept of us being like sheep. I don’t want to put words in the Lord’s mouth, but I think we are also like Lemmings. We look at someone else’s walk with the Lord and think that is what ours is supposed to look like….or questioning why we don’t have the walk that they do. So, alot of times, you have a church full of people emmulating each other, and not Christ. We are told to work out our OWN salvation with fear and trembling. That means individuality. I have had it up to HERE with conservative Christians judging other Christians because their witness looks different. Jesus needs us to walk differently so that something within us can minister to diverse groups of people. Can a guy with tattoos up his arm preach the Word of God? Oh yeah! Can he preach out of a different translation than KJV? You betcha. It’s hard in the south…alot of closed mindedness about religion. It’s time to open our minds….to JESUS!
    This rant brought to you by my Dad who says “there is no grafitti on the temple wall”. I guess he would question the salvation of a preacher with MOM inked on his arm! Thanks for your patience – Jennifer

Leave a Reply

