Skip to content

I cheated a little, first song is UP!

January 31, 2008

I recorded and uploaded a song today, and you can check it out by clicking here.  In fact, you can bookmark that site and check my progress periodically.  It’s a tribute to the Hurd Brothers.  Most of you have never heard of them and that’s really a shame, but they had a huge impact on my musical life.  “Home by Another Way” is my musical tribute to them.  Yes, I borrowed the title from the Barbara Brown Taylor book – but she borrowed it from the Bible.

Now a note about the subject of the song:

The Hurd Brothers Official Website

Forrest Hurd was the best guitarist I ever heard.  When he was on, there was no filter between what he could imagine and what his hands could play.  His brother Doug was his musical soul mate.  Forrest was my guitar teacher when I was a kid, and their older brother John is my uncle by marriage.

They were tragically killed in an accident on their way home from a gig, just two miles from their house.

I miss them terribly.  “Home by Another Way” is my tribute to them.  I left a few clams in the guitar part because I was going for that kind of out-of-control Buddy Guy thing; I know Forrest loved that.

Every time I played out I secretly hoped Forrest and Doug would show up because I really wanted to impress Forrest.  I recorded a CD once where I overdubbed all the guitar, bass and vocal parts (no drums or percussion) and my dad played it for him.  Apparently he was impressed with my creativity, and upon hearing that I was on cloud 9.  I still like to think somewhere, somehow he knows my playing is a tribute to him and that he is impressed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2008 11:28 pm

    This is just fabulous Will. I am so proud to be here and click over to hear it immediately. It feels like being at the hospital when a baby is born – one of the first to hear the news, you know? I can’t WAIT to see and hear what you come up with next. You are so bloomin’ talented. I will be telling a friend…or two..or, well you get it! Jennifer

  2. February 6, 2008 7:29 am

    Dude,

    You are certainly no ordinary UMC preacher!!!

    Thank God for that . . . because we don’t need anymore ordinary UMC preachers in the UMC.

    We need people like yourself, who are passionate about using the gifts God has given them instead of trying to be something they aren’t in order to please their conference BOM, cabinet or bishop.

    I appreciate you!

  3. Jacob Lane Hurd permalink
    July 8, 2013 11:09 am

    Thank you very much. Forrest and Doug would be my great uncles now… I never got the chance to meet them, but all of my family who were close to them said that they were absolutely wonderful and you just wanted to be around them.

Leave a Reply

