Skip to content

Benediction

January 22, 2008
tags:

Earlier this week during our Residence in Ministry meeting I led the closing worship.  Several of my colleagues asked for my benediction.

Confession time: I do not know the original source of this benediction.  I stole it from my former pastor and current friend/colleague Victor Long.   When I told Victor that I stole his benediction he said, “Good!  I stole it from my pastor!”  Who knows, he may have stolen it from his pastor too.

I’m not sure I have the words 100% accurate, but that’s okay.  This version is mine now and I have used it at the end of every worship service now for four years.  I find tremendous comfort  in them.

This worship service is ended, but our life in Christ goes on and on.  May your peace be so real and your joy so obvious that all who see you come to praise God.  Go now in peace.

Talk amongst yourselves.  I’ll give you a topic.  White chocolate is neither white nor chocolate.  Discuss.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2008 10:46 am

    I don’t know anything about white chocolate except that it tastes good!

    That benediction, though, is very similar to one my pastor uses also…

  2. Josh permalink
    January 24, 2008 12:47 am

    Thanks for posting this. And white chocolate is to chocolate like martinis are to vodka martinis. Evil exists.

Leave a Reply

