Skip to content

This makes me sick.

January 9, 2008

Of course, this sign (snapped quickly from the car with my phone, hence the poor quality) was in the window of, surprise surprise, a loan company.

I’m reminded of Chris Rock’s observation that people in other countries hate Americans because of our religion.  Christianity?  No.  Our religion is money.

He’s right.  Americans bow at the altar of the almighty dollar.  When we feel down do we head for the nearest church?  No, we head to the nearest mall.  The national pastime is no longer baseball, it’s shopping.

And the Calvin in me won’t allow me to point the finger outward without pointing out my own sin.  I’m as guilty as the next guy.  Look at me shill for the CD of the week and lust after guitars.

That sign lays our sin bare; at least it does mine.  I pray for a transformation of heart and mind that helps me to look outside my wallet and beyond a budget for true joy.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 28, 2008 7:15 pm

    There was something disgustingly, brutally honest about Ayn Rand’s vision for an America that literally worshipped a dollar sign.

Leave a Reply

