Skip to content

I’m not a coffee snob, honest!

October 24, 2007

But thanks to Mark Fraunfelder at boingboing, I had to get me one of these.

aeropress

It’s called the aeropress, and it’s made by the company that makes the aerobie flying disc. I saw this video at boingboing tv and I thought “that looks great.” Why?

Well, I had wanted a French Press for a while but never got around to buying one. I wanted something like that for when I want a cup or two of coffee, not a 12-cup pot. Plus I wanted a way to make espresso for that extra-wide-eyed boost on some mornings.

Now I’m no coffee snob. I don’t know good espresso from moderate or even bad espresso. I know I like my coffee strong and I like dark roasts, but that’s about it. I have no problem with coffee from the local gas stations, fast food joints, or the local non-chain coffee shop. I enjoy good coffee, but I’m no connoisseur.

But after scouring the net for reviews of the thing, even the snobs can’t come up with anything bad to say about this glorified coffee syringe, though the coffee is usually made with microwave-heated water and takes only a few seconds. They seem to all say it makes better tasting espresso than many really expensive machines. I got it for $30 shipped.
It’s not here yet, but it will be soon. Yippee!

(My guess is that I won’t be sleeping the night I get it.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Layman Erik permalink
    October 24, 2007 10:54 pm

    Let me know how it goes, it may be just the thing for my office.

    Since father’s day I have been percolating my coffee at home, and I brought my drip maker to my office.

    (By the way, I’m not digging the black background with the pumpkin colored text. Making me dizzy.)

  2. arachnerd permalink
    October 25, 2007 8:01 am

    Might have to close the gates on open commenting, huh? Hehehehe.

    I’m not a coffee snob either – more of a coffee geek. I do love me some coffee!

    We love our French Press & our stove-top espresso pot, and we actually use both of them quite a bit in addition to our regular drip maker. I think I would like to have one of those little buggers to add to the collection though. It’s just unfortunate it doesn’t make more at a time.

  3. October 25, 2007 8:17 am

    Close the gates? And risk not communicating with big time movie stars like SHARON STONE?!?

  4. October 25, 2007 1:55 pm

    Changed the theme for the blog (I didn’t like the dark theme either, Erik, but your comment did motivate me to change it).

    Also deleted the unsolicited advertisements.

Leave a Reply

