Skip to content

Katy’s contagious moods….

October 23, 2007

So a couple of days ago I walked into the living room and my wife, the beautiful and talented Katy was vacuuming the ceiling.

Great.

I hate it when she gets into that mood.  It means we’re cleaning, and cleaning thoroughly.  The worst part of it?  That mood is contagious.  Before I knew it, I was vacuuming the ceiling.  I’m wandering around the house with the vacuum cleaner looking up for cobwebs that needed to come down.

Then I needed to start cleaning out the vacuum cleaner for maximum cleaning power.

I lost all track of time, space and priority.  I reached a zen-like state of mindfulness in the moment.   I became one cleanin’ mo-chine.

But not before taking a deep breath, sighing from somewhere deep down in my soul, thinking, “here we go again.”  I have a momentary sense of dread, then I realize that I kind of like that mood.  Stuff gets clean.  The house looks better.  Katy is happy.  All is right with the world.

As long as she doesn’t look in my office…….

One Comment leave one →
  1. arachnerd permalink
    October 23, 2007 9:16 am

    Leah must’ve caught it during our visit Sunday. Sunday night & Monday night at our house were spent completely emptying, cleaning & re-stocking our pantry & side-porch cabinets. My back is so sore… but it does look a lot better!

Leave a Reply

