Skip to content

Friday Five

October 19, 2007

Art Ruch posted five CDs as his Friday Five, so I’ll follow suit.

  1. Rockpile – Seconds of Pleasure.   I bought this on vinyl when it was new!  I had seen the video for Teacher, Teacher and loved the sound, the groove, everything.  And I loved this album front to back.  Still do.  Panned by critics at the time, it has gotten better with age.
  2. Johnny Winter – The Progressive Blues Experiment.  I love this album. Texas Blues at its finest.  Features Tommy Shannon before he played bass for that other white Texas bluesman.  Speaking of whom…..
  3. Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble – Couldn’t Stand the Weather.  The title cut is probably Stevie’s best song, at least in my opinion.  The album also features his definitive Voodoo Chile (Slight Return), Things That I Used To Do, and the slow blues masterpiece Tin Pan Alley.
  4. Derek and the Dominos – Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs.  You take your Eric Clapton, your Duane Allman, your unrequited love, and the correct alignment of the planets I guess, and you get a masterpiece.  If Clapton recorded only this one album he would still be legendary.
  5. Lucinda Williams – Live @ the Fillmore.  I love this album.  Lucinda is a songwriting genius, loves good music, and has found her six-stringed voice in Doug Pettibone.  This album gives me the chills.  It’s intense, emotional, and jaw-dropping in its honesty.  (Adult language warning).

There you go.  Five albums I love like I love oxygen.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2007 11:22 pm

    Yo, Will, “Couldn’t Stand the Weather” is an all time fave! Probably a future CD of the Week! And pretty much anything by Ms. Williams is great in my book. Good list!

  2. October 24, 2007 11:32 am

    Wish you lived closer. We could pour some drinks and spin some discs with the families.

Leave a Reply

