Skip to content

Funny Jesus of the Month

October 17, 2007

“Jesus” is “Lord”

Here’s a great sign in all of its glare-ridden, colorful cameraphone glory.  I can’t decide if it belongs on Crummy Church Signs or  The “blog” of “unnecessary” quotation marks.
Anyway, that’s my reflection on the left – and that’s my car key (not a cigarette) in my hand.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. keltic permalink
    October 17, 2007 1:29 pm

    Oh man, that reminds me of an entry on my blog: http://keltic.wordpress.com/2007/06/19/i-swear-on-a-stack-of-discounted-bibles/ where I question a sign in a religious store window. Do the superfluous quotation marks indicate sarcasm or irony?

  2. October 17, 2007 8:41 pm

    Yesterday on my way home from work I saw a car with signs plastered all over it for “heaveniscoming.com.” (No, I haven’t gone to look at it.) What got me was the teaser line, which said something like “Learn Gods’ plan…” etc. Note the plural possessive! Gods’ plan! I wonder how many gods, and if the person in the car would’ve known what I meant had I rolled down my window and asked if he or she was really polytheistic.

  3. October 18, 2007 9:27 am

    Will, that’s very “funny”.

  4. Richard Sherlock permalink
    October 21, 2007 12:23 pm

    Your name rang a bell with me in the “Mantle of Piety.” I served aboard the USS DEUEL APA-160 in 1951-52. Didn’t know if you knew there was a Navy ship with that name. It was named for a county in s.w. Nebraska, and was an attack transport that carried cargo and landing craft. The ship was scrapped years ago, but if you are not familiar with it I could be talked into sending you a picture if you like.
    I am a member of Calvary UMC here in Nashville.

    Sincerely,
    Richard Sherlock

Leave a Reply

