Skip to content

Whatta week.

October 2, 2007

It’s been quite a week here in Southern Illinois.

Saturday we had a huge birthday party for nearly all the adults in my wife’s family.  Being the oldest of six children in her family, and all of them grown and married, makes for a big ol’ family gathering.  I ate more than I should have, and I paid for it.

Sunday morning was the usual: two church services, two sermons and then one exhausted pastor.  I collapsed on the couch.

Sunday night was the community fifth Sunday singing service in Wayne City.  There’s a lot of talent in the churches in that little town.  I played the Telecaster through my little VibroChamp and sang “I Can’t Even Walk (Without You Holding My Hand).”

In addition to my usual allergy problems and the fact that something (ragweed maybe?) is blooming, I have been utterly miserable.  Today I had to get to the store to pick up some NasalCrom just to stabilize my nose.  Antihistamine eye drops are getting serious mileage here too, as my eyes are constantly red and itchy.  And this is with oral antihistamine medicine!

Monday we moved some stuff out of my Grandmother’s house.  That was hard.  She’s in an assisted living facility and doing well, but the house is going to be sold along with my grandparents’ huge antiques collection.  I have some of my grandpa’s antique German steins (he loved collecting those, and I always loved looking at them).  Maybe more meaningful are the pocket knives and belt buckles that I remember from my youth.  But the best thing is a big wooden trunk.  My grandfather’s maternal grandparents came to America from Prussia with everything they owned in that trunk.  It’s been in my grandparents’ house for a while now, and now it’s in mine.  It is an amazing piece of my family history, and I have a deep sense of that history every time I look at it.

Gotta get my son inside now, it’s starting to get dark.

One Comment leave one →
  1. arachnerd permalink
    October 3, 2007 11:57 am

    It really is an amazing trunk. I wanted you to get it & am very glad you did. I don’t think the majority of our relatives appreciate its history & meaningfulness. It’s hard for me to even think about all of those antiques that they worked so hard to acquire being sold to the highest bidder. They meant so much to them. Oh well – it’s all hard for me emotionally in other ways too. I’m sure you of all people understand.

    Hope the rest of your week goes okay.

Leave a Reply

