Skip to content

Blogging drought

August 23, 2007

Sorry I haven’t been around a whole lot lately.  I have found myself abandoning every blog post I’ve tried to write this past week because, frankly, they were all inappropriate.

The only thing I’ve wanted to talk about lately is my frustration with congregational life, and I don’t think this is the place to air the church’s dirty laundry.  Everything else, though, has seemed trivial.

Let’s just say this:  I’m having difficulty being pragmatic and developing a healthy practical theological approach to a very specific problem in one of my congregations.  It is  a problem that predates my tenure by many, many years yet I bear the brunt of its force by virtue of being the pastor.  Part of me wants to confront the issue head-on (apply directly to the forehead) and part of me wants to take a tough-love approach, while another part of me wants to be a people-pleaser.  Each approach has serious drawbacks and potentially serious consequences. 

Mostly I ask for your prayers during this time of discernment.  I need God’s help to work all this mess out.  I know I’m being called out of my comfort zone here so I ask for your prayers and support.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2007 11:02 am

    Prayers ascending….

  2. Wayne permalink
    August 23, 2007 11:29 am

    Will, similar situation, different congregation. Praying for you.

  3. August 23, 2007 7:47 pm

    Will, been thinking of you and praying for you. As you may have noted, “tis the season”
    Peace,

  4. Layman Erik permalink
    August 23, 2007 9:34 pm

    I will pray.

    Call me or contact me if you want a layman as a sounding board.

    Church life can be hard

  5. kansasbob permalink
    August 25, 2007 3:09 pm

    Just catching up … like the new blog … looks like it has been here for a while.

  6. August 28, 2007 12:51 pm

    Prayers for you, Will.

  7. August 28, 2007 1:20 pm

    Thank you, all of you, for your prayers and support.

Leave a Reply

