Skip to content

CD of the Week: Elvis Costello – The First 10 Years

August 2, 2007

I guess I was an idiot in the ’80s.  There was an awful lot of music around that was pretty great, but I didn’t catch onto it until later.  I didn’t get the Clash, or the B-52s, or the Ramones, or … well you get the idea.

One I actually got was Nick Lowe.  I saw a video for “Teacher Teacher” by Rockpile (future CD of the week – count on it) and fell in love with that sound.

Nick Lowe produced Elvis Costello’s first several albums, but I never connected the dots.  Guess I just couldn’t get past his voice, or his reputation as a punk rocker (punk rockers were scary to naive, innocent midwestern church boys, at least this one.)

The first Costello song I really remember liking was “Everyday I Write the Book.”  Its hilarious video with the Charles and Di lookalikes, soulful backup vocals, and clever wordplay hooked me.  But I never bought an album by Elvis until recently.  I decided after all these years that I needed a good Elvis Costello compilation.  Luckily, one was just released.

Yeah, true fans already have all these tunes.  But this is clearly the best of the best-of Costello CDs out there.  It contains all the essentials from his early prime.   I don’t know how I lived so long without “Red Shoes,” “Peace, Love and Understanding,” “Radio Radio,” “Pump It Up,” and the aforementioned “Everyday I Write the Book” on CD.  I’m just glad I have it now.

And I’m glad I get it now.

For a bonus feature, here’s that video:

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 7, 2007 12:42 pm

    I’ve always liked Costello though I don’t have this CD. And I like all those scary people from the ’80’s you mentioned too;)

Leave a Reply

