Skip to content

RSS fun

July 11, 2007

I’ve finally settled on a solution to managing my blog reading. I’ve tried bookmarking my favorite blogs, using “live bookmarks” in Firefox, and I’ve experimented with readers, and placed feeds on my iGoogle start page. None of these are bad at all, but I’ve finally found a solution I like.

I decided I like Google Reader. And here’s why. I love the iGoogle start page, and Gmail is my favorite email ever. With the better gmail extension in Firefox Google Reader can be integrated right into my Gmail inbox. It’s the bomb – I can check my email then click a link and check the new posts on my favorite blogs right from one page. Very slick.

What do you use and why?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2007 12:59 pm

    I use bloglines. I like seeing the list of blogs I read and the number of new posts displayed. I like that I can read the post from within bloglines but easily ‘click though’ to see the actual blog. I’ve tried others including google and protopage but I always come back to Bloglines. Creature of habit I guess…

  2. July 12, 2007 8:51 am

    I use my iGoogle page. I have my RSS feeds sorted into tabs based on the type of blog/website it is (methodist, friends, other christian, general). The draw back is that in my stubbornness, I pretty much refuse to visit a website that still stone-age enough not to have RSS.

Leave a Reply

