Skip to content

Book Meme

August 26, 2006

I’ve been tagged by PamBG, a great cyber-friend and Methodist colleague from the other side of the big pond.

1. One book that changed your life:
Living Buddha, Living Christ by Thich Nhat Hanh. I had always heard Christians talk about prayer and meditation, and Christians are good at prayer. The meditation part, however, was foreign to me. I picked up some Buddhist stuff because they are really good at the meditation part. It was through this study that I came to a knowledge of things like lectio divina and centering prayer, Christian practices that are practiced and taught by monastics. Through practices of prayer and meditation I discerned a call to ministry and developed a far more meaningful relationship with God.

2. One book that you’ve read more than once:
One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish by Dr. Seuss. This was my daughter’s favorite book when she was a toddler. It’s central message, “From there to here, from here to there, funny things are everywhere,” is deeply profound. Humor is always present if you bother to look for it. This applies to faith, too – God is always there if you really bother to look.

3. One book you’d want on a desert island:
I hate to be overly obvious on this one, but I have to go with the Bible.

4. One book that made you laugh:
Dave Barry’s Book of Bad Songs. This little book is a gem. I had a great time remembering all the horrible songs that get stuck in my head, and learning nuances of songs that only get worse the more you think about them. Somebody get that cake out of the rain, for crying out loud.

5. One book that made you cry:
Let Your Life Speak by Parker Palmer. I had to read this for orientation at seminary, and I was moved to tears at least once per chapter. Of course, I was in the midst of discerning vocation and undergoing massive life changes. This book spoke to me like it had been written just for me at just the time I read it. Amazing.

6. One book that you wish had been written:
John Lennon’s autobiography.

7. One book that you wish had never been written:
The Way The World Works by Jude Wanniski. I am no fan of supply-side (“trickle down”) economics.

8. One book you’re currently reading:
Breakout Churches by Thom S. Rainer. I meet every week with an accountability group and we are currently finishing this book. It has caused us to reflect critically on what we are doing well and not so well in our churches, and to propose solutions and provide support for one another.

9. One book you’ve been meaning to read:

I own several. Beyond the Passion by Steve Patterson, Pastor by William Willimon, John Wesley by Albert Outler, for starters.

10. Now tag five people:
TAG – YOU’RE IT!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

