Skip to content

My daughter rocks!

December 12, 2005

My daugher, age 13, continues to display signs that she is an outstanding human being.

She keeps close track of her chores and the allowance she is owed. The other day she approached us to tell us what we owed her in allowance – thirteen bucks. Then she blew our minds. She said, “Don’t give it to me. Buy $13 worth of canned goods so I can give it to the food drive at school.”

We did. And she was, and still is, happy with her decision. This act of un-selfishness on her part warms my heart and gives me hope for the future. I am confident that she will continue to be a blessing in communities that surround her.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    December 12, 2005 10:35 am

    You are richly blessed.

  2. gavin richardson permalink
    December 12, 2005 8:53 pm

    great kid! wonderful story!

  3. Willie permalink
    December 12, 2005 11:55 pm

    Yeh, she is the best. I am truly blessed.

    I have a daughter with a heart of pure gold, an equally compassionate son (who plays guitar and understands why Buddy Guy, Dylan, the Beatles, SRV, and the Allman Brothers are great), and a 6-year-old son who is simply hilarious.

  4. Michael permalink
    December 13, 2005 3:53 pm

    Good for you, Willie! You and your wife have obviously done something right. Just as I said in a post on my blog, those who think the future is lost to selfishness and greed are just not paying enough attention.

    “Out of the mouths of babes…” indeed is praise perfected.

Leave a Reply

