Skip to content

Guitar Blogging

November 14, 2005

This is a 1969 Fender Telecaster. I bought it in horrendous condition a few years back. It had been spraypainted white and there were stains and scratches everywhere. It was, as Lyle Lovett would say, “ugly from the front.” The only original parts left were the body and neck. It had been routed (by a true amateur) for a middle pickup and a humbucker in the neck position. I decided to restore it to something like its former glory. I bought a Wilkinson bridge for good intonation, a Rio Grande Vintage Tallboy for Strat for the neck position, and used the Seymour Duncan Antiquity for Telecaster bridge pickup that came with it (YES!)

I sanded off the spraypaint after a couple of unsuccessful attempts to strip it, and discovered that the ash under the paint was gorgeous. I did a very thin hand-rubbed polyurethane finish on the body and installed a new custom-made pickguard. This thing twangs like nobody’s business, and I dig it big time.

I think the natural wood and tortoise-shell look is terrific. That’s the classic look for acoustic guitars too. Though the natural-and-tortoise look on a Tele gives off a serious Prince vibe (his Hohner Tele copy, seen often in the movie Purple Rain, has that same color scheme). I’ve got some serious blood, sweat and tears in this axe so I have an interesting relationship with this inanimate object. It’s one sweet guitar.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. John Wilks permalink
    December 12, 2005 10:08 pm

    Nice blog! Dig the guitar content.

    I’ve got Rio Grandes in my Mexican strat and I love ’em.

  2. Willie permalink
    December 12, 2005 11:56 pm

    The Rio is definitely a sweet pickup! Thanks for stopping by and posting.

Leave a Reply

