Skip to content

Hot Cuppa Joe

March 5, 2005

I don’t know really when it happened, but at some recent point in my life I began to really treasure that first cup of coffee. It’s not really the caffeine I miss if I don’t get that cup, it’s the smell and the taste and the warmth. It’s a great companion for that two hour road trip from my home to seminary classes.

And I suspect I’m not the only coffee lover out there.

This week I received my first shipment of coffee from Equal Exchange. I ordered through the United Methodist Committee on Relief (UMCOR) Coffee Project. It’s really a cup of coffee I can feel good about sipping. Why? Well, for one thing it’s Fair Trade certified, which means that the “middle men” have been cut out and the farmers in Latin America who grow the beans get paid a fair price for their labor. It’s also grown organically, so it’s free of chemical pesticides and junk like that.

Everybody gets a chance to love good coffee, but now we have a chance to better love those who grow it for us.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

